About Us

The History of Julian Pathways, Inc.

Our story begins in 1998, when the Julian Union School District was awarded two Healthy Cities and Communities grants. These two grants, one for planning and one for implementation, were used to assess the community needs and develop resources focused on addressing those needs. From the start, our organization has included school staff, parents and community partners concerned with the well-being of our rural community. As a result of the initial discussions and surveys of over 500 Julian residents, priorities focused on early and primary intervention strategies for youth, expanding health care access, and enhancing the concept of community health. Group efforts focused on developing resources for student support, developing programs to promote healthy choices and exploring options for student transportation. 






Even when faced with difficult situations, we are there to serve our families. 



These two programs continue to thrive and constantly keep up to date with the expanding learning needs of our students. 

Over the years, we have received a variety of grants to support programs that benefit the school district and the Julian community. From drug-free prevention programs to school gardening and social-emotional learning. Our staff grew to include a Behavior Support Specialist, a Resource Specialist, a Garden Educator and a Character Education Coordinator to meet the programming requirements of these new grants. We continue to employ and promote programs run by outstanding coordinators and highly motivated leaders. 



With funding fluctuating year to year, programs have come and gone, however, our passion to help our school community has never wavered. Julian Pathways, Inc. has received a number of accolades and awards that include the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administrative (SAMHSA) Award, Golden Bell award, Early Mental Health Initiative PIP awards and multiple proclamations from the San Diego County Board of Supervisors. We’ve even received congressional recognition!



Our vision has always included sustainability and a lasting legacy of positive impact. 

Please visit our Julian Backcountry Collaborative page to learn more about partnerships with Julian Pathways.

Since receiving a California Healthy Start grant in September of 2000, Pathways and partners have provided a myriad of programs for students and families.

2023-2024 School Year Funding from:

21st Century Community Learning Center

After School Safety and Education

School Based Medi-Cal Administrative Activities

County of San Diego Community Enhancement Grant

California Community Schools Planning Program Grant

The Lauer Foundation (San Diego Gives)

Community & Individual Donors

JULIAN PATHWAYS, INC. BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Donna Colbert, Board President

Valerie Thompson, Board Secretary

Dana Pettersen, Board Treasurer

Members at large: Brian Duffy and Karen Limahai

STAFF

Carmen Longoria

Executive Director

carmen@julianpathways.org


Crystal DeSoto

Finance & Grant Manager

crystal@julianpathways.org


Manja Rocco

Expanded Learning Coordinator- Julian

manja@julianpathways.org


Laura Navarro

Expanded Learning Coordinator- Borrego Springs

lnavarro@bsusd.net



Virginia McNall

Social-Emotional Learning Coordinator / Student Support Services

virginia.mcnall@julianpathways.org


Mati Moon

Garden & Outdoor Education Coordinator

mati@julianpathways.org


Stacy Cosson

Resource Coordinator

stacy@julianpathways.org


Craig Rembold

Student Support Specialist

craig@julianpathways.org


Krystin Hunter

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist 

krystin@julianpathways.org


Meredith Brooks

Associate Marriage and Family Therapist 

meredith@julianpathways.org


Nicole Smith

Licensed Clinical Social Worker

nicole@julianpathways.org

Looking for our office? We're located on the Julian Elementary School campus (past the playground).